Tips For Shopping On a Budget

Before we begin,let’s get something straight; I am by no means a fashion expert. However, like any girl, I love to shop.  Let’s just say I’m the kind of girl who can spend hours in one store looking for clothes and if I leave without a purchase I would totally be fine with that.  To sum it up, I’m every guy’s nightmare except my boyfriend because he’s pretty patient!

During my teen years wearing label clothing was a big deal and not to mention expensive.  Not having a job made it hard to dress the way I wanted to.  By the time I got my first job, I was in college where most of my money was spent on books, tuition, school supplies, and parking permits.  At this point, it was still hard to shop for the things I loved.  I started realizing that you don’t have to spend a lot of money on cute clothes!  With a bit of strategizing and exploring I realized that trendy and affordable items weren’t out of reach. Now, whenever I shop at stores such as Macy’s, Forever 21, Charlotte Russe, and Target I go straight to the clearance section.  I never realized how many great deals I could find.  Soon after, I got out of my comfort zone and began shopping to  Ross, Tj Maxx, Marshalls, and Kohl’s.  Finding great deals is like winning the lotto and I win every time!

My goal is to help you realize that you don’t have to sacrifice your wallet on fashionable clothing items, jewelry, shoes, and purses.  Here are some of the rules I follow when shopping:

01.  Always set a budget

02. Always go straight to the clearance sections

-The layout plan in stores is very strategic. Most of the time the clearance section is all the way in the back and the newer more expensive items is what you see first. Consumer psychologists (yes, this is a real career) provide a careful arrangement of clothing in stores to distribute exposure to newer and more expensive items. Fight your urges and outsmart them; you can do it!

03.  Avoid paying more than $12-$15 for a shirt/blouse/tank top/etc.

-If I’m having an urge to spend more than that, I walk away from the item. If I’m still thinking about it and I know I can afford it then sometimes I give in. Hey, sometimes a girl can’t resist!

04.  Do NOT worry about what other people think.  If you want to start saving money, then embrace this shopping mythology and be proud!

05. Allow yourself one expensive piece…once in a while. You work hard for your money, so treat yourself right!

Below are some photos of my trip to Target

View from the entrance to the women’s clothing department. As you can see, no signs of the clearance section!

View from the entrance to the women’s clothing department. As you can see, no signs of the clearance section!

Oh! There it is...hiding all the way in the back.

Oh! There it is…hiding all the way in the back.

Cute flannel, right? I thought the same until I saw the price tag.

Cute flannel, right? I thought the same until I saw the price tag. It was $20!

I was browsing around in the clearance section and found this one. I love the colors and thought it would be great for fall.

I was browsing around in the clearance section and found this one. I love the colors and thought it would be great for fall.

The puple/blueish flannel I found in the clearance section was only $11.48...SCORE!

The puple/blueish flannel I found in the clearance section was only $11.48…SCORE!

10 thoughts on “Tips For Shopping On a Budget

  1. I really enjoyed reading this blog, being a girl on a college budget is financially impossible! Sooo looking forward to seeing more posts.

  2. Can’t wait to see more! Went to target to go check out their clearance items and I was very impressed with the shirts I found.

  3. WOW awesome tips ! I actually want to go to target now to bargain shop! This is very helpful thank you, I am looking forward to your next blog! Keep hunting the deals for us!

    Sincerely, bargain shopper (:

  4. I love this post! I just bought a $30.00 cardigan for $8.48!! Here’s another tip you may enjoy– download the app called Target Cartwheel for great deals even on clearance items ($10-$20 off sometimes)! Love this!

Leave a Reply

